prof. Miroslav Novák



Vysoká škola mezinárodních a veřejných vztahů Praha

In 2004 he was appointed professor of political science (the first at the Faculty of Social Sciences of Charles University) and until 2014 he was chairman of the Doctoral Study Board for Political Science.
In 2006-2009 he was the rector of the private university CEVRO Institute (School of Political Studies) in Prague, where he remained the guarantor of the field of political science and international relations until 2019.
In the years 1998-2018 he also lectured at 8 western universities, of which 5 as an invited professor.
Since 2021 he has been lecturing at the University of International and Public Relations (VŠMVV).

Since 2018, he has been an evaluator of the National Accreditation Office of the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports for Political and Legal Sciences.
He specializes in comparative political science, especially party systems, empirical theories of democracy, the concept of totalitarianism, opposition in communist systems, the Swiss political system and populism.

It is member of these Scientific Councils
- Faculty of Social Studies, Masaryk University in Brno
- Faculty of Philosophy, University of West Bohemia
- Faculty of Philosophy, Jan Evangelista Purkyně University in Ústí nad Labem
Since November 2014, he has been an honorary member of the Scientific Board of the Faculty of Social Sciences of Charles University, where he was a full member from 1991 to June 2014.

He has published 7 professional books, of which he is the only author, of which 3 are in French and 4 in Czech (two books were published in 2021). He was an editor or one of two editors in 5 collective professional book publications. He published 65 chapters in collective professional book publications, of which 29 were foreign (French and English, Hungarian, Bulgarian and Romanian) and 36 domestic books.
From 2004 to 2018 he was a member of the scientific committee of the Revue internationale de politique comparée (Louvain-la-Neuve). Since 2008, he has been a member of the Scientific Committee of the French journal Est-Europa.Revue d‘Etudes Politiques et Constitutionnelles Est-Européennes (REPCEE).
In the years 1994-2003 he was a member of the editorial board of the Political Science Review (ČSPV Praha), 1997-2005 and again since 2012 he has been a member of the editorial board of the Sociological Journal (SÚ AV ČR Praha). Since 2008, he has been a member of the editorial board of the Political Science Journal, which is published by the International Institute of Political Science at Masaryk University in Brno.

Expert articles published by, among others. in these magazines:
French Science Review (Paris), International Comparative Science Review (Louvain-la-Neuve), Administrative Review (Paris), Europe. Review of Political and Constitutional Studies (Pau, France), Transitions (Brussels), Cahiers d’Études Hongroises et Finlandaises (Paris), Politeia. Triennial Review of the Constitutional Law of the Republic (Bordeaux), La Nouvelle Alternative (Paris), Les Cahiers européens de la Sorbonne Nouvelle (Paris), Cahiers du CEFRES (Prague), Revue Thomiste (Toulouse), Politikatudományi Szemle (Budapest), Divinatio (Sofia) ), Testimony (Paris), Transformations (New York), Political Science Review (Prague), Political Science Journal (Brno), Acta Politologica (Prague), Central Europe (Prague), Parliamentary Reporters (Prague), Securitas imperii (Prague) and Sociological Journal / Czech Sociological Review. He published 9 professional articles in the Sociological Journal.

He was the chairman of the professorship appointment procedure in the field of political science:
2012: prof. PhDr. Blanka Richova, CSc.
2012: prof. ing. Petr Drulák, Ph.D.

He was the chairman of the associate professor habilitation procedure in the field of political science:
2009: doc. PhDr. Tomáš Lebeda, Ph.D.

Among his doctoral students at FSV UK in Prague were, among others.
doc. PhDr. Tomáš Lebeda, Ph.D. (he was also the chairman of his habilitation commission)
PhDr. Josef Mlejnek, Ph.D.
doc. PhDr. Marek Skovajsa, Ph.D. (he was also a member of his habilitation commission)
PhDr. et JUDr. Karel Šimka, Ph.D.
doc. PhDr. Miloš Brunclík, Ph.D.
PhDr. Ladislav Mrklas, Ph.D.
PhDr. Johana Shahini, Ph.D.
prof. PhDr. Bořivoj Hnízdo, Ph.D.
PhDr. Petr Kotlas, Ph.D.